Sunday, August 29, 2010

Floating Sadness

I started this post while listening to this song. It used to be one of my favorite songs about.. 2 years ago? Haven't listened to it in quite a while, nevertheless it's meaning and power hasn't faded. It's the perfect reflection of today's society. Monotony! A certain lady once said "Beware of monotony; it's the mother of all the deadly sins." (Edith Wharton) I could not agree more. It's monotony, boredom, dullness.. that push us to do things we wouldn't normally do. It's also monotony that makes us sad, tired, depressed.

We have forgotten to appreciate small things. We have forgotten to smile. We have lost this sense of freedom. all we have is greed and loneliness. No wonder we spend fortunes on things we do not need when all we really require as life forms is free. Air, water, sun, affection.


Our world.



We call it our world ..but normally, people that own something have a rather high gratitude for it and tend to protect it, that only in the case of it being precious, which I believe "the world" is. Yet why do we disrespect it. Better yet why do we disrespect each other? Because we humans do live together and are part of the world, am I not right? I'm not going to talk about global warming, consumption of resources, abuse of mother nature (and yes that sounded porno)etc etc. No.. I'll talk (shortly) about living together as a society. Can't remember who said that "Humans are bound to society. They can not live without it, they can not live as an outcast.". I agree, we can not live without being part of something (or at least feeling it) but.. if that is so true, then why do we treat each other like crap whenever we have the chance? Why is there so much hatred for one another? And let's not forget envy! I guess it has something to do with pride, self-approval? self.. self something anyways. And it's complete and utter bullshit. I don't get the whole envy part. I don't get why it's so hard to help one another. I don't get why we barely smile when we walk on the street. People think you're perverted or you're hitting on them if you smile at them. God forbid you're having a wonderful day and you'd want to share that with the world. I mean seriously now..look at us. We're just a bunch of selfish, arrogant and stubborn consumers/costumers. All we do is buy/sell but never give or receive without a purpose.

-

Sometimes I wish it would be easier for us to express feelings, be capable of showing emotions, at least to our parents who raised us and offer that unconditional love which you will not find at any other person that pretends or thinks they love you. Because the older we get the more this "love", apparently shared with whoever other than your parents will just revolve around stuff like money, reputation, sex, you know.. stuff like that in which some people blindly believe.
The older we grow, the more it will count if you have money, if you own a house, a car.. a company that allows you to live pretty nicely etc.
The older we grow, the more we'd like to date someone with a good reputation, someone astonishingly attractive, you know.. to match well with the money I mentioned above.. and to finish it all with "creme de la creme" if the sex is not good there's either a. divorce or b. (my personal favorite) cheating. Because hell..we have to satisfy all our needs.
See what I mean? And there are billions of such examples. Billions. And you can write about each and every example at least a page. Because we people don't know what to appreciate anymore. And thanks to contemporary media and not only, nowadays children scare the shit out of me. (Some of them.) But that's another topic...
I'll end this post with one of my favorite quotes "The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing." I guess it's the perfect description of where we stand right now.
Good or evil, right or wrong, love or hate.. we get to choose.


Be it ignoring shattered childhood..


..because it's not always that case.


Because sometimes there is someone to protect you...


..and sometimes there isn't.



Because most of the time words were not easy to say.. that's when we discovered music.


And we began writing our own songs... evolving.



Evolving... ?!


All part of art, the one thing humans should be most definitely proud of.



That art reflected our reality and yes..most of the time it was beautiful.


Like I said.. beautiful.


Up to "post-post modernism"...



We fought wars, we lost many innocent lives.. for the need of power.



And we let a white dove fly in sign of peace.



But what peace is there?


And we pass by such creatures, evidently in this situation because of us...




Yet we have no remorse when we teach our children to be good.



So I guess there's really no excuse for all the things we ignore and all the things we don't.

Have a good night dear reader,
whoever you may be.

Tuesday, August 24, 2010

On a night like this.




Dear reader,

I began this post with one of the most tranquil songs I have ever heard. It gives you that feeling of warmth in your heart even though frankly I do not know what the man sings about. He could be singing about frogs and dogs chasing cats and spaghetti and even about a cactus. Alright, alright, I'm playing dumb. The meaning of the title is "soul and heart". Frankly..without any translation I could have guessed that. Not with the help of the Latin roots belonging to my language but simply by listening to it. I'm talking a lot of rubbish lately but I'm not quite sure why I have such a hard time finding words. Maybe I've turned into this PC freak vegetable or maybe I'm in love. I wouldn't call it "in love" rather looking forward to falling in love. The mood I've been in lately kind of requires a certain "getting close to somebody" and enjoying their company. I think what I'm trying to say is that I wish I could get to know someone a bit better. Get to talk to someone about all different things that I don't normally talk about. Some kind of connection with someone at more than just physical level. Find that awkwardly crazy of me but I don't really have a good excuse for feeling this way. I've tried reading books, that didn't quite work out. I tried watching movies, hell I even had a film marathon with "top ten teenage movies" and no, don't think I watched American Pie and Date Movie. I mean good teenage movies from the '60s, '70s, '80s. (One of my favorites was "Flirting". Cute story of a British boy falling in love with this half African half English girl. It was quite touching and not cheesy as I would have expected it to be. I do appreciate movies that can tell a love story without exaggerating emotions or adding pathetic pick-up lines that make you wanna hit yourself in the head. Maybe those did not occur because the film was not American :) Yet I will not argue about that, I do enjoy my American movies once in awhile.) Anyway back to what I was saying.. I did many things to try and get my mind off such foolish thoughts but whatever I do, those thoughts keep coming back.

-

Emotion by side.I started driving lessons a few weeks ago and it's going quite well. At my first drive I could already do everything by myself without having my car die in the middle of the street. Yes allow me to brag from time to time, it's what we Aries like doing (kissing their own ass).

For now I don't really want to write anything more. I'd rather lay on my bed, listen to good music and fall asleep thinking about someone, nobody in particular, just someone that could bring me to smile even more then I already do.
Anema e Core.

Have a good night sleep, whoever you might be.